Jacksonville is filled with Community Colleges and the University of North Florida. Not to mention the very active nightlife Jacksonville downtown and the beach area can provide. With this active nightlife comes numerous bars and drinking establishments were a person could go to find a goodtime. Unfortunately, those goodtimes are not always engaged in by patrons who are of legal age to drink. Children today are leaving the home at 18 years old and believing their bulletproof head to the local bar for a drink or two. However, these underage drinkers can end up it a whole lot of trouble when the police discover their illegal activities. Furthermore, their criminal activities and penalties do not just end with the child, but those who served alcohol to the child could be held liable as well. In Jacksonville, Florida Statutes § 562.111 and § 562.11 regulate the underage drinking and those who serve them.
Under Florida Statute § 562.111, which regulates the possession of alcoholic beverages by persons under 21 states, “it is unlawful for any person under the age of 21 years old…to have in his/her possession alcoholic beverages.” If the person were to be found guilty of the charges would face a misdemeanor of the second degree. A misdemeanor of the second degree holds a penalty of up to 60 days in jail and/or fines not to exceed $500.00. In addition to criminal penalties, the DMV will be notified and the person, if under 18 years old, could face his/her license revoked or suspended for at least 6 months and not to exceed 1 year.
Also, Florida Statute § 562.11, regulates the selling, giving, or serving alcoholic beverages to persons under 21. The statute reads, “it is unlawful for any person to sell, give, serve, or permit to be served alcoholic beverages to a person under 21 OR to permit a person under 21 to consume such beverages on the licensed premises. If convicted the person would face a misdemeanor of the second degree; which hold a penalty of up to 60 days in jail and/or $500.00 in fines. In addition to criminal penalties, the DMV will be notified and the person, if under 18 years old, could face his/her license revoked or suspended for at least 6 months and not to exceed 1 year.
These penalties must be proved beyond a reasonable doubt by the State before a person can be convicted and receive punishment. Therefore, the assistance, guidance, and counsel of a Jacksonville Criminal Defense Lawyer may prove to be invaluable. A Jacksonville Criminal Defense Lawyercan review your case, determine if you meet any exception to the statute, and make sure moving forward your rights are being protected.