I have been Charged with Aggravated Assault, What do I do?

HandcuffsAn aggravated assault charge is nothing more than a simple assault that has gone too far. But what actually constitutes an aggravated assault is not always clear. For instance, a simple assault would just be a fight between two individuals. However, if someone throws an object, even without intent to hit the other, the Sate could charge the defendant with Aggravated Assault.

Florida Statute § 784.021 has defined aggravated assault as “an assault with a deadly weapon without the intent to kill OR with an intent to commit a felony.” Additionally, aggravated assault is a 3rd degree felony punishable by imprisonment not to exceed 5 years and/or a $5000 fine. In contrast, Florida Statute § 784.011 defines assault as “an intentional threat by word, or act that seeks to physically harm another, coupled with an apparent ability to do so, which creates a well founded fear in such other person that such violence is imminent.” A person found guilty of assault is a 2nd degree misdemeanor punishable by 60 days in jail and/or $500 fine.

There is a thin line between simple assault, a misdemeanor, and aggravated assault, a felony. Even so, a Jacksonville Criminal Defense Lawyer will be able to utilize their knowledge and understanding to work with the State prosecutor and try to get your aggravated assault charge reduced to a simple assault or even dismissed.

If you or a loved one have been charged with either a simple assault or aggravated assault, contact a Jacksonville Criminal Defense Lawyer to discuss your case and determine what the best course of action in moving forward. It could be the difference between a misdemeanor and a felony conviction.

Contact Information