Look at your Ponte Vedra Florida drivers license and read the fine print: “Operation of a motor vehicle constitutes consent to any sobriety test required by law.” In essence, the Florida Implied Consent Law states that when a person accepts the privilege of operating a vehicle in Florida, he or she is consenting to taking a breath, urine, or blood test.
If a Ponte Vedra driver is arrested for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) and refuses to submit to a blood test, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles will automatically suspend his or her license for 12 months for the first refusal and 18 months for the second. He or she is entitled to a hearing to contest the suspension, but must request one within 10 days of the arrest. Therefore, it is important to act quickly.
Additionally, a second refusal will result in additional criminal charges (Jacksonville Criminal Refusal) being filed, so it is important to speak with a Ponte Vedra Florida DUI Attorney.