Many defendants charged with Jacksonville Petit Theft enter a plea of guilty or no contest to the offense without regard to the consequences such plea may have on the status of their Florida driver’s license. A plea to a Jacksonville theft crime may result in Florida driver’s license suspension ranging from 6 months for a first theft conviction to 12 months for a second or subsequent conviction.
Florida Statute Section 812.0155 gives the court the authority to order a Florida Driver’s License suspension for anyone convicted of a theft crime. Additionally, this law mandates that the court order the suspension of a Florida Driver’s License for anyone that has more than one conviction of theft.
If you are charged with a Theft Crime in Jacksonville, contact a Jacksonville Theft Attorney to discuss all aspect of your case.