Under Section 812.014, Florida Statutes, a Jacksonville shoplifting charge can range from a misdemeanor to felony crime. Usually, this level of the crime depends on the value of the goods that were the subject of the theft. Section 812.014 states that if the value of the property is less than $100.00, the petit theft (petty theft) is a second-degree misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to 60 days in Duval County Jail. If the property stolen is valued at $100 or more, but less than $300, this is a first-degree misdemeanor. This is punishable by up to one year in Duval County Jail. If the property is valued at $300 or more, but less than $5,000, the offender has committed a third-degree felony which is punishable by up to 5 years in Florida State Prison.
Florida Statute Section 812.014, also provides for enhanced charges if the offender has previous theft convictions. Therefore, it is important to tell your Jacksonville Theft Lawyer about your criminal record.