I often hear the question: “How do I get my driver’s license back in Florida?” Many Florida drivers have had their Florida driver’s licenses suspended due to excessive points. If you receive a Florida traffic ticket that is a moving violation, points will be assessed to your license pursuant to Florida Statute Section 322.27(3)(d). If you get a certain amount of points within a specified time period, your Florida driver’s license will be suspended for a certain time limit as set forth in Section 322.27(3)(a)-(c), Florida Statutes.
“(a) When a licensee accumulates 12 points within a 12-month period, the period of suspension shall be for not more than 30 days.
(b) When a licensee accumulates 18 points, including points upon which suspension action is taken under paragraph (a), within an 18-month period, the suspension shall be for a period of not more than 3 months.
(c) When a licensee accumulates 24 points, including points upon which suspension action is taken under paragraphs (a) and (b), within a 36-month period, the suspension shall be for a period of not more than 1 year. “
If you have been issued a traffic citation that has resulted in points being assessed to your license, you should contact a Jacksonville Criminal Defense Lawyer. Even if the citation is an old citation, you may still be able to avoid the points and keep or reinstate your license.
If your Florida Driver’s License is suspended due to excessive points and you can have the points withheld, you may be able to obtain a valid Florida Driver’s License. If your Florida Driver’s License was not suspended for excessive points but has been suspended due to driving with a suspended or revoked license (Florida Habitual Traffic Offender), you can still petition the court in order to obtain a valid driver’s license.